Skip to main content

Excellence in Language Teaching Award

Each year the Council on Language Instruction recognizes the accomplishments of one of our faculty members with the Excellence in Language Teaching Award.  Please consider nominating a colleague who has established a tradition of excellence in teaching and has also shown laudable engagement in departmental, college or university affairs.

Nominators are asked to compile a dossier that includes letters of support from the nominator, the candidate’s department, and students. The dossier should also include the candidate’s current CV, statement of teaching philosophy and achievements, and recent CTEC summaries. 

Please review the application dossier guidelines and award flyer for more details.  Contact the chair of the CLI Excellence in Language Teaching Award Committee with any questions. Nominations are due to the committee chair by January 26, 2024.  Complete application dossiers are due by March 11, 2024.


2023 Award Recipient


Assisstant Professor of Instruction, Italian


2022 Award Recipient

Professor of Instruction, Spanish



2021 Award Recipient

2020 Award Recipient

2019 Award Recipient

2018 Award Recipient

Erin Leddon

Erin Leddon

Associate Director, English Language Programs

2017 Award Recipient

2016 Award Recipient

2015 Award Recipient

2014 Award Recipient

2013 (Inaugural) Award Recipient